top of page

ERTC Announces Candidates for November Municipal Election



Top Race Supported by Experienced Team of Candidates Committed to Putting Easton First

Republican Candidates for “Putting Easton First” (L/R): Debbie Szegedi, Town Clerk (incumbent); Krista Kot, Tax Collector (incumbent); Wendy Bowditch, First Selectman; Kristi Sogofsky, Selectman (incumbent); Christine Calvert, Town Treasurer (incumbent).

EASTON, CONNECTICUT, July 20, 2023 – The Easton Republican Town Committee is pleased to announce its experienced, diverse slate of candidates for the 2023 municipal election, proudly led by an all-female ticket for First Selectman and Selectman.

Easton Republicans finalized the slate at their caucus held on July 19 at the Easton Senior Center.

Registered caucus attendees enthusiastically nominated the leadership team of Wendy Bowditch, candidate for First Selectman and Kristi Sogofsky, current incumbent, and candidate for Selectman. With nearly 40 years of combined experience in serving the town, the Bowditch/Sogofsky ticket is poised to make history when elected in November.

“It’s time for Easton to be led by a proficient team who fully understands how the town operates and who is capable of guiding the vital decisions to put Easton first,” said Bowditch. “We can be doing so much better.”

Bowditch said Republicans will focus on preserving the exceptional rural environment of Easton while returning competence to Town Hall leadership. Bowditch’s experience spans: the Easton Insurance Commission; Easton Board of Finance; Easton Senior Center Advisory Board; EMS Building Committee; Treasurer of Fire District 1; chair of the Easton RTC;

and, seven years as the elected Town Treasurer. Sogofsky has been involved with the Easton PTO, the Boy Scouts and the Girl Scouts, Easton lacrosse, the Library Board and is a two-term incumbent on the Board of Selectman.

“Our Engagement Committee surveyed Easton residents on the issues that matter most. With that in mind, we are well-positioned to address concerns while we simultaneously bring new energy and enthusiasm to the Board,” said Sogofsky. “Easton deserves qualified leaders with experience in putting our town’s interests first. The ERTC is the one committee delivering this level of experience and local knowledge for our Board of Selectman.”

Easton Republicans are excited to nominate popular incumbent candidates Christine Calvert (Treasurer), Krista Kot (Tax Collector) and Debbie Szegedi (Town Clerk), to their respective roles, and to recommend former First Selectman Adam Dunsby for a seat on the Region 9 Board of Education. Republicans endorsed a candidate for every eligible position on the November ballot by partnering with Unaffiliated candidates to ensure greater representation of Easton’s population.

The endorsed 2023 municipal slate is:

First Selectman

Wendy Bowditch


Kristi Sogofsky incumbent

Town Clerk

Debbie Szegedi incumbent

Town Treasurer

Christine Calvert incumbent

Tax Collector

Krista Kot incumbent

Board of Finance

Mike Kot incumbent

Mark Mulvaney

Board of Education

Jeff Parker incumbent

Alicia Young incumbent

Board of Assessment Appeals

John Miranda incumbent

Zoning Board of Appeals

Tom Dollard incumbent

Library Board of Trustees

Peter Dacey

Region 9 Board of Education

Darin Bershefsky

Adam Dunsby


Anthony Battaglia

Anthony Farmer

Chris Peritore

Darrin Silhavy


bottom of page